Spotlight on Health Care Coordinators

The Health Care Workers Council is expanding its reach, with newly appointed health care coordinators now serving as the steering committee.
Coordinators will facilitate communication between health care locals in their districts, including regular calls with local union presidents. Appointed by their district directors, coordinators will also help set the agenda for the Health Care Workers Conference, which will take place April 23-25.

There are currently twelve members serving as coordinators:

District 1: Tim O’Daniel is president of Local 1014L, which represents 850 clerical, technical and support staff at Cleveland Clinic Akron General in Akron, Ohio. He’s been at the medical center for 37 years and a full-time union officer since 1995.

District 2: Jackie Anklam is president of Local 9899 in Saginaw, Mich. Local 9899 represents workers at St. Mary’s Hospital and Touch Point Support Services. An environmental services technician, Jackie has been with the hospital 22 years.

District 3: Ray White is president of Local 1-207, a large and diverse local that encompasses nearly the entire province of Alberta. Based in Edmonton, Alberta, Ray’s local represents health care workers at South Country Village, the Good Samaritan Society, River Ridge Seniors Village, Salem Manor, Citadel Care Centre, Calgary Society for Persons with Disabilities, Vegreville Association for Living in Dignity, Youville Home, and Rivercrest Care Centre.

District 4: Judy Danella is president of local 4-200 in New Brunswick, N.J. She has been a registered nurse at Robert Wood Johnson Barnabas Health for 23 years.

District 6: Audra Nixon is a member of Local 9211 in Maxville, Ontario. She’s worked some 30 years at Maxville Manor, a long-term care facility. She is a trustee on her local executive board and also serves as president of the District 6 Health Care Council, a position she’s held the past four years.

District 7: Nicole Greene serves as financial secretary of local 1014 in Gary, Ind. She works as a full-time officer at U.S. Steel’s Gary Works and has been a steelworker for 17 years.

District 8: Danny Coghill is vice president of Local 14637 in Hazard, Ky., which represents health care workers at Hazard Appalachian Reginal Medical Center. He’s been a union member for more than 27 years.

District 10: Debbie Yakscoe is a full-time grievance committee member for local 10-00086 in West Point, Pa. Local 10-00086 represents workers at Merck, Sharpe and Dohme, Inc. Debbie also serves as the worker’s compensation committee co-chair and is an at-large member of the local’s executive board.

Cheryl Ream is unit chair of Local 1940 in Lewistown, Pa. Local 1940 represents some 150 members at Geisinger Lewistown Hospital. She’s worked as a radiographer and mammographer for 25 years.

District 11: Heather Hill is a grievance officer, union steward and trustee for Local 9349 in Hibbing, Minn. She works as a lead licensed practical nurse at Fairview Range Mesaba Clinics, where she’s worked for nearly 13 years.

Louise Curnow is a physician assistant practicing at Lake Superior Community Health Center in Duluth, Minn., who serves as unit chair for the professional unit of Local 9460. A staunch believer that health care is a human right, Louise has been a physician assistant – certified (PA-C) for more than 25 years, working primarily in family practice.  

District 12: Alma Garzon is president of Local 183 in Apple Valley, Calif., where she’s been an ED Financial Counselor for 17 years. Local 183 represents some 750 workers at St. Mary Medical Center.

Press Inquiries

Media Contacts

Communications Director:
Wayne Ranick at 412-562-2444

USW@WORK (USW magazine)
Editor Jim McKay

For industry specific inquiries,
Call USW Communications at 412-562-2442

Mailing Address

United Steelworkers
Communications Department
60 Blvd. of the Allies
Pittsburgh, PA 15222