## UNITED STEELWORKERS



July 1, 2020

Dear Local Union Presidents, Recording Secretaries and Financial Secretaries;

We have concluded the period, which ended June 30<sup>th</sup>, 2020, during which USW local unions in both our countries have been considering, acting and reporting on the resolution to Postpone the USW 2020 Convention.

The results of that vote are that over 62% of all locals, representing 77% of the membership have approved the resolution. Accordingly, the next USW Convention is scheduled for August 8<sup>th</sup>- 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022 at the MGM Grand hotel in Las Vegas. We will of course issue a new convention call and prepare for the convention as that date approaches in the normal fashion.

We believe this was a prudent decision given our current circumstances and what appears to be increases in reported cases of Covid19 in many states in the US.

Our union is anxious to have our economy return to some sense of normalcy so the impact to USW members, their families and loved ones is minimized. But we must continue to be extremely vigilant in our workplaces and with our employers to ensure that every possible step is taken to see that our shops and workplaces are safe and we are provided with the necessary PPE to avoid contraction of the virus.

Thank you for your participation in the adoption of the resolution and hopefully we can all begin to gather together soon at all the levels of our union. In the meanwhile, stay safe, look out for each other and reach out to the union through your normal channels and visit the <u>USW.org</u> website for updates and resources that are helping us handle this crisis period.

In solidarity,

International Executive Board

Thomas M. Conway, Int'l President

John E. Shinn, Int'l Sec-Treasurer

John E. Shinn, Int'l Sec-Treasurer

John E. Shinn, Int'l VP (Human Affairs)

Fred Redmond, Int'l VP (Human Affairs)

Ken Neumann, National Director of Canada

Roxanne Brown, Int'l VP at Large

Belann Josty	Novela & Bloss
Leeann Foster, Int'l VP	Donald E. Blatt, District 1 Director
Michael & Below	Stephen Sunt
Michael H. Bolton, District 2 Director	Steve Hunt, District 3 Director
Del Vitale	Dich
Del Vitale, District 4 Director	Dominic Lemieux, District 5 Director
Marty Warr	red le mity
Marty Warren, District 6 Director	Michael Millsap, District 7 Director
Erned R. Billy Thompson	Sand Flops
Ernest "Billy" Thompson, District 8 Director	Daniel Flippo, District 9 Director
Boby MAE	Cuil Raining
Robert "Bobby" McAuliffe, District 10 Director	Emil Ramirez, District 11 Director
Onglong Drawth	Rubem Daza
Gaylan Prescott, District 12 Director	Ruben Garza, District 13 Director