I.W. Abel Award

1991



This is given to individuals who demonstrate heroic acts in the workplace. It was named in I. W. Abel's honor. He was a member of USW Local Union 1123.

2012	Local 1-424 and the Community of Burns Lake, British Columbia For risking their own lives and to rescue victims from burning buildings and transport them to safety in severe weather after an explosion at the Babine Forest Products mill on January 20, 2012 that killed two workers.
2009	John Sommer - Local Union 1123, District 1
2006	George Kline - Local Union 6996, District 10
2001	Byron Pofahl - Local Union 6787, District 7
1997	David Small - Local Union 1537, District 10
1994	Robert D. Farkas - Local Union 2227, District 10
1994	Debbie Bodak - Local Union 2 321, District 14
1991	Rex Ambrose - Local Union 2958, District 30

Larry Fisher - Local Union 4895, District 37